Click links for information
Under the governor’s order, the following vehicle crossings are open during park hours:
Download temporary surf-fishing maps to see surf-fishing areas that are open during the current state of emergency:
Please allow two to three weeks for mail delivery of your permit. Surf fishing permits can also be purchased on-site at park offices.
Yes, you must affix your Surf-Fishing Permit sticker to a Delaware Surf-Fishing License Plate. Surf-Fishing License Plates may be purchased online for $6 when you purchase your Surf-Fishing Permit and may be re-used year after year.
It is common practice for those who have two license plates on their vehicle to hang the Surf-Fishing License Plate from their front bumper with a zip tie when surf fishing.
The Delaware Surf-Fishing Permit serves as a fishing license for the permit holder. Any person fishing with the permit holder must have a valid Delaware fishing license, which may be purchased online.
Yes. For convenience, the Division of Parks & Recreation has three bait shop concessionaires: Lighthouse View Bait & Tackle at Cape Henlopen State Park, Old Inlet Bait & Tackle at Delaware Seashore State Park and Hook ’em & Cook ’em, Bait, Tackle and Seafood at the Indian River Marina. Call ahead to any of these bait shops for information on when they are open for business.
Natural Resource Police need to be able to safely and easily check for compliance with the restrictions; groups of 10 or fewer people with vehicles widely spaced can be determined quickly and visually.
Contact DNREC’s State Park Rangers via Tip411, DNREC’s smartphone app, or by calling the 24-hour DNREC Dispatch Center at (302) 739-4580. Tip411 allows the public to easily report concerns. Anyone can send anonymous reports of crimes, emergencies and other problems directly via text message by texting their report, along with the keyword STATEPARKSTIP. The app is available for free download by searching DENRP via the Google Play Store or the iTunes App Store.
The order requiring out-of-state visitors to self-quarantine for 14 days will be lifted on June 1. Surf anglers may make contact with a patrolling park ranger if concerned about a particular out-of-state vehicle. Any enforcement on the beaches will be consistent with the Governor's order.
Division of Parks and Recreation rangers are conducting routine beach patrols to ensure the limitations included in the State of Emergency modification that allows surf fishing are strictly adhered to. Failure to comply may result in the revocation of one’s surf-fishing permit and/or fines up to $500.
Drive-on surf-fishing is considered a recreational activity in which safe social distancing can be maintained.